UK charger network reliability: September 2026
How much of the time each network’s public chargers were out of service in September 2026, as reported by the operators’ own live status feeds. Every connector, every hour, weighted so a large network counts per charger, not per site.
In September 2026, trevl followed 8,040 sites and 11,606 connectors on 4 UK charging networks with live status feeds. Taken together, their feeds reported connectors out of service for 5.6% of the time they were observed, ranging from 1.7% (Clenergy) to 22.3% (GeniePoint (EQUANS)). 7 other networks were left out for lack of data. Provisional until 5 November 2026.
Time out of service
The share of observed connector time each network’s feed reported a connector as out of service, faulted or blocked. Shorter bars mean less time out of service. The scale starts at zero.
- Clenergy1.7%
- char.gy3.5%
- Osprey Charging5.4%
- GeniePoint (EQUANS)22.3%
All the figures
Every compared network, September 2026
| Network | Sites | Connectors | Out of service | Usable | In use | Site-days with a fault | Status known |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| char.gy | 5,921 | 5,923 | 3.5% | 96.5% | Not reported | 4.7% | 100.0% |
| Clenergy | 1,403 | 1,712 | 1.7% | 98.3% | 11.9% | 4.0% | 96.2% |
| GeniePoint (EQUANS) | 308 | 1,143 | 22.3% | 77.7% | 5.7% | 47.9% | 99.6% |
| Osprey Charging | 408 | 2,828 | 5.4% | 94.5% | 6.6% | 44.8% | 99.4% |
Also as JSON. Free to reuse under CC BY 4.0, crediting trevl and linking to this page.
Network by network
char.gy
Across 5,921 sites and 5,923 connectors, char.gy's feed reported connectors out of service for 3.5% of the time they were observed, from 4 September 2026 to 30 September 2026. On 4.7% of site-days, at least one connector was out of service at some point.
- Usable 96.5% of the time. This feed says whether a connector works but not whether someone is charging on it, so its in-use share is not known.
- Status known for 100.0% of readings, on 27 of 27 days.
Clenergy
Across 1,403 sites and 1,712 connectors, Clenergy's feed reported connectors out of service for 1.7% of the time they were observed, from 4 September 2026 to 30 September 2026. On 4.0% of site-days, at least one connector was out of service at some point.
- Usable (free or in use) 98.3% of the time; in use 11.9%.
- Status known for 96.2% of readings, on 27 of 27 days.
Some of its larger rapid sites: Delta DC Charger, Manchester, Harbour West DC, Burry Port, Down to Earth Rapid, Murton, Ness Walk Hotel - DC 2, Inverness. All chargers
GeniePoint (EQUANS)
Across 308 sites and 1,143 connectors, GeniePoint (EQUANS)'s feed reported connectors out of service for 22.3% of the time they were observed, from 4 September 2026 to 30 September 2026. On 47.9% of site-days, at least one connector was out of service at some point.
- Usable (free or in use) 77.7% of the time; in use 5.7%.
- Status known for 99.6% of readings, on 27 of 27 days.
Some of its larger rapid sites: Boat Museum, Ellesmere Port, Riverside 3 Car Park, Farnham , Premier Inn Cardiff West, Premier Inn Dumbarton/ Loch Lomond. All chargers
Osprey Charging
Across 408 sites and 2,828 connectors, Osprey Charging's feed reported connectors out of service for 5.4% of the time they were observed, from 4 September 2026 to 30 September 2026. On 44.8% of site-days, at least one connector was out of service at some point.
- Usable (free or in use) 94.5% of the time; in use 6.6%.
- Status known for 99.4% of readings, on 27 of 27 days.
Some of its larger rapid sites: Highbridge Retail Park, Waltham Abbey, Manor Farm, Rainhill, Prescot, Morrisons, Workington, Willow Brook Centre Car Park, Bradley Stoke, Bristol. All chargers
Networks left out this month
Each network below has a live feed, but too little behind its figures to set them beside the others. Leaving it out says nothing about its chargers.
- BP Pulse (via Eco-Movement): A known fault in the feed's data covers too much of the month.
- Charge Place Scotland: Under 80% of readings carried a status.
- Ionity (via Eco-Movement): A known fault in the feed's data covers too much of the month.
- MFG EV Power: Live readings on too few days of the month.
- Pod Point (via Eco-Movement): Live readings on too few days of the month.
- Shell Recharge (via Eco-Movement): Live readings on too few days of the month.
- ubitricity (via Eco-Movement): Live readings on too few days of the month.
How this is measured
What the figures mean
Each network publishes a live status for every connector: available, charging, out of service, or unknown. trevl reads those feeds around the clock and records what each connector said, hour by hour. Out of service is the share of time a connector was reported faulted, out of order, blocked or otherwise unusable. Usable is the share it was free or in use. In use is the share someone was charging. Readings of unknown are left out of all three and counted separately as status known.
Each site’s day is worked out from its own readings first, then weighted by its number of connectors. A feed that reports every minute therefore counts no more than one that reports every few hours, and a 12-bay hub counts more than a single post.
Site-days with a fault is the share of days on which any connector at a site was out of service, however briefly: a measure of how often a driver might meet a broken bay, where time out of service measures how long they stay broken.
What it cannot see
These are the operators’ own reports. A charger that is broken but still reported as available counts as available here, and one taken out of service for planned work counts as out of service. A network whose feed is quicker to flag faults can look worse than one that is slower to, for the same chargers. The figures measure what each network tells drivers, which is also what trevl plans on.
Networks differ in what they run. A network of on-street lamp-post chargers and one of motorway rapid hubs are not doing the same job, and their figures are best read against their own past months as much as against each other.
Suspected silent faults are experimental: a connector that sits free for hours while the bays beside it are in constant use is probably not working, whatever the feed says. trevl has not yet checked how often that guess is right, so it is shown for information and plays no part in the order of the charts.
Which networks are included, and coverage
Only networks with a live status feed are measured; sites known only from Open Charge Map have no live status and are not counted. A network is compared only when its readings cover at least 20 days of the month, come from at least 10 sites, and carry a known status at least 80% of the time. Otherwise it is listed with the reason, not ranked.
| Network | Measured from | Days with readings | Sites | Status known | Occupancy | In the comparison |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BP Pulse (via Eco-Movement) | 13 September 2026 | 18 of 30 | 1,220 | 99.8% | Reported | A known fault in the feed's data covers too much of the month. |
| char.gy | 4 September 2026 | 27 of 27 | 5,921 | 100.0% | Not reported | Yes |
| Charge Place Scotland | 4 September 2026 | 26 of 27 | 1,354 | 77.4% | Reported | Under 80% of readings carried a status. |
| Clenergy | 4 September 2026 | 27 of 27 | 1,403 | 96.2% | Reported | Yes |
| GeniePoint (EQUANS) | 4 September 2026 | 27 of 27 | 308 | 99.6% | Reported | Yes |
| Ionity (via Eco-Movement) | 13 September 2026 | 18 of 30 | 82 | 99.3% | Reported | A known fault in the feed's data covers too much of the month. |
| MFG EV Power | 4 September 2026 | 18 of 27 | 593 | 99.7% | Reported | Live readings on too few days of the month. |
| Osprey Charging | 4 September 2026 | 27 of 27 | 408 | 99.4% | Reported | Yes |
| Pod Point (via Eco-Movement) | 4 September 2026 | 15 of 27 | 1,775 | 98.2% | Reported | Live readings on too few days of the month. |
| Shell Recharge (via Eco-Movement) | 4 September 2026 | 16 of 27 | 266 | 92.3% | Reported | Live readings on too few days of the month. |
| ubitricity (via Eco-Movement) | 4 September 2026 | 16 of 27 | 12,437 | 99.6% | Reported | Live readings on too few days of the month. |
Start dates and known data problems
- The status history starts on 4 September 2026.
- Outages are counted from 4 October 2026, when trevl began recording each status change.
- Suspected silent faults are counted from 8 October 2026.
- Price changes are counted from 5 October 2026; each site’s first recorded price is its starting point, not a change.
- A measure that started part-way through a month is shown only if it covered at least two-thirds of it, and counts are scaled to 30 days.
- Until 12 September 2026 the Eco-Movement status service reported every Ionity and BP Pulse connector as charging, unchanged for days, so those days are left out.
- Until 7 October 2026 GRIDSERVE's out-of-order status was misread, so its broken chargers counted as available. Its figures start on 9 October, after the correction had settled.
When the figures are final
A month is published two days after it ends and rebuilt every day while late readings can still arrive and be corrected. Its figures are final from 5 November 2026, and are not changed after that except to correct an error, which this page would say.
More on how trevl reads status: Reading charger status.
For operators
If a figure here looks wrong for your network, tell us at hello@trevl.co.uk. We will check it against the feed, correct anything that is our mistake and note the correction on this page. Provisional figures are rebuilt every day until 5 November 2026.
Plan around the chargers that work
trevl plans EV journeys on live charger status from twelve operator feeds and re-plans when a stop goes down.